I've never seen a K2 logo like that. I’m still a beginner, and engage my “death wedge” pretty often. Here’s the recommended conditioning checklist for older skiers issued by the Professional Ski Instructors Association (PSIA): •Check with your doctor before starting any physical training If I can do it, anybody can.” John Ingersoll, a snowboard director at Mt. •Choose a low-impact exercise regimen that includes stretches, half-squats, drive-ups, lunges, leg curls, crunches—avoid polymetric exercises, such as box jumps I had one guy sticking my ski poles behind my legs. I am 30 years old, have been boarding for 20 years, and instructing for about 10 years. If you would prefer to wait for them to get to the stage of potentially being able to learn to ride independently down a slope (within a week – possibly just falling leaf, possibly turning, depending on age & ability), then start any age from 3 to 5 (depending on the child and facilities (Riglet Parks etc)). Are you learning how to snowboard? Rule # 1: Keep Them Warm Snowboarders have a bit different apparel requirements than skiers. Required fields are marked *. This is referred to in snowboarding as your stance, with two options, regular and goofy. At The Snow Centre, 30 minute Private Ski or Snowboard Lessons are available for 3 - 5 year olds and 1 Hour Private Ski or Snowboard Lessons are available for anyone ages 4 and above. It is still advised to start with a softer rocker-dominant snowboard as you will progress much faster than if you would pick a snowboard designed for high speeds. In reality my two daughters learnt to do the perfect squat that is essential for snowboarding at a young age. Really the whole process of teaching is F-ed up the same way. Just imagine trying to learn to drive in an 80,000 pound, 18 wheel truck that accelerates like a Ferrari! Learning to snowboard generally involves a lot of falling over however young or old you are so best to avoid the landing being like a slab of concrete! A